A SIMPLE FAVOUR MOVIE REVIEW

For those of you who possibly have been living under a rock recently and don’t know what ‘A Simple Favour’ is about and/or have never heard of it – it is about Stephanie (Anna Kendrick), a mommy vlogger who seeks to uncover the truth behind her best friend, Emily’s (Blake Lively) sudden disappearance.

I wasn’t aware that this movie was originally a novel, written by author, Darcey Bell – therefore, when watching this movie, I didn’t know what to expect. All I had to go by was the movie’s trailer and the fact that Blake Lively started promoting her new character, Emily, when she removed all posts – including profile picture – from her Instagram account and changed her bio to ‘What happened to Emily?…’. Not going to lie that was a pretty creepy time for social media.

My best friend (Lydia) and I went to see it on Sunday (September 23rd, 2018), as it was a movie we was both very very excited to see and as Lydia said, she wouldn’t want to watch a movie that featured a Gossip Girl actor in without me. So safe to say, the love I have for Gossip Girl is most certainly not a secret and most of my friends/family only associate that show with me. Call me obsessed, who cares – everybody loves a bit of Gossip Girl.

Once upon a time, I used to write my movie reviews to be full of spoilers, but being as many of you may not have gotten around to seeing the movie yet, or are hearing about it for the first time now and want to go see it – I will keep it as spoiler free as possible.

WOW, WOW, WOW. Is really all I could say about this movie and you guys would know immediately that it’s a must-watch, but since I loved it that much, I’m going to swoon over it a little more. Let’s start with the two main characters/actresses – Stephanie, played by Anna Kendrick, was a character you’re going to either love or hate – I still don’t even know if I loved or hated her yet. She starts off with this facade of being the perfect mommy, who all the other online mommies look up too, with the perfect life, the perfect diet and the perfect son. However, meeting Emily and hearing all of her wild stories brought out a wild side in Stephanie – all of her secrets are revealed the more she connects with Emily and you soon see that she is far from perfect. I think I grew to hate her when she became a little too obsessed with Emily’s disappearance, I mean, anyone would go stir crazy knowing their best friend is missing, but it seemed that she began to enjoy Emily not being around so she could lead a whole new glamorous life for herself. She was this sweet, innocent mom who always did the right thing, and then she became this mom/woman who became intrusive to the case/Emily’s family and wanted to reveal all Emily’s wild secrets herself. This is the first time I’ve ever watched a full Anna Kendrick movie because she tends to take on the role of extremely annoying characters, Stephanie being no different – however, I was able to ignore the annoying traits of this character due to her being such a great fit and having such a great bond with Blake Lively.

Emily, played by Blake Lively, was surprisingly a likeable character and I really thought I would dislike her from the get-go because of how psycho she is – but there was no hate there. I don’t know if that was because Blake was playing the character -and whether she’s playing a character or not – you just can’t hate her. She always has me completely under her spell. I don’t think Emily’s intentions were as manipulative and psycho as other thrillers I’ve read/watched have turned out to be – this was more on the mild side of things – however, there was a twist involved that definitely had me in shock and made me see a side of Emily that I didn’t think she was capable of. Like the movie tells you though, you can’t trust anybody and you’ll never know a person the way you think you do. There’s always secrets. Blake played this character incredibly, she had that charm about her – like she does in real life – that has everybody whipped. Everybody looks at her like she’s this glamorous mom who can do no wrong. Whatever she asks for, people will get it. Whatever she says, people will listen. The world is at her feet… For the start at least. If you’re a female who didn’t like suits before, then you’re definitely going to be filling your wardrobe with them after this movie, because Blake Lively takes it to a whole new level with fashion! No one is ready for Blake Lively to be as hot as she is in this movie. I girl-crushed H A R D.

Whilst the ‘big twist’ did have me in a state of shock, I still did have very mixed opinions on it. I expected it to be a whole lot bigger than it actually was and have an idea of how I think it should’ve ended in my head. My idea might have blown some minds. However, I think it ended quite satisfyingly, everybody somewhat got what they deserved and overall, I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to re-watch it. Mum! Dad! Another thing to add to my Christmas list!Β 

 

Share:

44 Comments

  1. Fatimah
    October 6, 2018 / 3:15 pm

    A really well written review, I will definitely need to check it out! I haven’t heard of her before so I may have been living under a rock….

    FATIMAH β€’ ROSEYGOLDBOX
    http://www.roseygoldbox.blogspot.co.uk

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 6, 2018 / 7:34 pm

      Thank you so much, Fatima. I’m really glad you enjoyed my review!

      When you say you haven’t heard of her, do you mean Blake Lively? Because girl, I can educate you on her whenever you’re down for it. She is a goddess! x

  2. October 6, 2018 / 4:58 pm

    Ooooh, I need to see this!

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 6, 2018 / 7:35 pm

      You sure do! If you love thrillers, you’re going to fall head over heels for this one! x

  3. October 6, 2018 / 5:21 pm

    I will have to check out “A Simple Favour” when it comes out here in Japan, which sadly is next year (non-Japanese movies are slow to hit theatres here). (And I have been living under a rock because I didn’t hear about this movie till now hehehe)

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 6, 2018 / 7:36 pm

      Well better late than never with only hearing about this movie until now! I’m glad I was the one to be able to help you find out about this movie and I hope you enjoy when you do get the opportunity to watch πŸ™‚ x

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 6, 2018 / 7:37 pm

      You’re going to loveeee it! Thank you lovely, I can’t wait to watch it over and over again x

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 6, 2018 / 7:31 pm

      Literally, me too! You’ll have to let me know what you thought of it when you eventually do get to check it out. Thank you so much, I really appreciate it πŸ™‚ x

  4. October 6, 2018 / 9:00 pm

    Thanks for the review. I love anna Kendrick films so will be sure to watch this one, just haven’t got round to it yet.

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 7, 2018 / 10:44 am

      You’re very welcome, Gemma! You’re going to love it when you do eventually get to see it πŸ™‚ x

  5. October 6, 2018 / 9:42 pm

    I haven’t seen this movie yet but I really want too. Blake Lively and Anna Kendrick are amazing actresses and it’s awesome that they are both in a movie together. I can’t wait to watch it!

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 7, 2018 / 10:45 am

      Blake and Anna are such a great pair together! Two actresses I didn’t know I needed to see in a movie together πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoy! x

  6. October 7, 2018 / 8:40 am

    OMG! This sounds so good I had no idea it was even out – I’ll have to go and watch it! xx

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 7, 2018 / 10:45 am

      Yesss please do go watch it! You’ll love every second of it! xx

  7. October 7, 2018 / 9:52 am

    Oh wow! I had no idea about this movie and just saw the trailer and loved it. I will definitely watch this movie. I love to read these kind of thriller novels too hehe. Very well written review without the spoilers thanks. πŸ™‚

    Via | http://glossnglitters.com

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 7, 2018 / 10:46 am

      So glad I helped you discover this incredible movie! Thank you so much! πŸ™‚ x

  8. October 7, 2018 / 10:33 am

    I am desperate to go and see this movie! Definitely going to find the time next week as it sounds amazing!

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 7, 2018 / 10:46 am

      Yesss you’re going to love it! x

  9. MsTee
    October 7, 2018 / 11:18 am

    I’ve never heard of it but this is a well written review. It actually makes me want to go searching for this movie to check it out.

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 8, 2018 / 12:50 pm

      Aw that is so amazing to hear! I really do hope you get the opportunity to check it out πŸ™‚ x

  10. October 7, 2018 / 11:59 am

    Already wanted to see this film! Now you’ve sold it even more x

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 8, 2018 / 12:51 pm

      That is so great to hear! Hope you enjoy it πŸ™‚ x

  11. October 7, 2018 / 1:13 pm

    I’ve been telling my partner we need to go see this movie since it came out! I’m definitely dragging him along at some point this week it sounds amazing! Great review!

    Jess // foundationsandfairytales.wordpress.com
    xx

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 8, 2018 / 12:51 pm

      Yessss drag him to the cinema asap because you’re both going to love it! Thank you so much Jess, really appreciate it! πŸ™‚ x

  12. October 7, 2018 / 1:27 pm

    Wow..can’t wait to see it! Thank you, great review!

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 8, 2018 / 12:57 pm

      Thank you so much, Holly! Hope you enjoy the movie πŸ™‚ x

  13. October 7, 2018 / 1:36 pm

    Blake Lively is such a QUEEN. I cant wait to watch this!

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 8, 2018 / 12:57 pm

      Oh my gosh, tell me about it!! I hope you enjoy the movie πŸ™‚ x

  14. October 7, 2018 / 1:38 pm

    I loved this movie, albeit it’s a little strange! Got to love Gossip Girl too

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 8, 2018 / 1:23 pm

      Yay! Oh there was definitely some strange moments in there haha!

      Ooh another GG lover, join the club! πŸ™‚ x

  15. October 7, 2018 / 1:40 pm

    I definitely need to check this out! I love Blake Lively and mystery films so it seems like the perfect combo to me!

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 8, 2018 / 1:24 pm

      You really do! Honestly, I didn’t know I need a combo of Blake Lively and thrillers – you’re going to love it! x

  16. October 7, 2018 / 3:06 pm

    Movie reviews are the best favour to everyone! Especially someone like me who likes spoilers so I tend to read the whole movie plot on wiki before actually watching the movie ahah! Sounds like a good one and both my favourite actress are in it!

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 8, 2018 / 1:28 pm

      I’m an absolute nightmare for spoiling movies/tv shows for myself as well haha! That’s why I tried to keep this as spoiler free and add a little mystery to make everyone still want to go out and see it πŸ™‚ x

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 8, 2018 / 1:29 pm

      You’re very welcome! It’s so hard to write up a movie review and not want to talk about everything that happens, so I was really nervous with writing and publishing this one but yay! I did it haha! πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoy it too πŸ™‚ x

  17. Gemma
    October 7, 2018 / 7:21 pm

    What a lovely review! I sometimes find it really hard to describe a book or film but you’ve done really well here. I love a good movie and this one definitely sounds interesting. Wouldn’t normally be my go to but I love your review and you’ve sold it! Now just to wait until it’s on DVD.

    Gemma | http://www.anoceanglimmer.wordpress.com

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 9, 2018 / 8:53 am

      Aw thank you so much! It wasn’t easy, I sat on this review for about a week trying to make sure I described it as best as I could without letting any spoilers slip! Ah that makes me so happy that I’ve convinced you to watch it – I hope you enjoy it! Yesss roll on December when it comes out on DVD and I can re-watch it! x

  18. October 8, 2018 / 12:12 am

    I already had this movie on my must see list but honestly your review moved it to the top!

    PS: Can we have like a Gossip Girl Binge Club or something?!? πŸ˜‚

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 9, 2018 / 8:56 am

      Wow that is so lovely to hear! I’m so glad and proud that my review has made this happen πŸ™‚ x

      OMG yes! Seriously, can I make this a thing? Will people actually join? x

  19. October 8, 2018 / 11:26 pm

    I just found out about this movie a few weeks ago, and I didn’t know it was a book until after that! I can’t wait to watch it, but I’m totally going to have to read it first. So excited!

    Ashlee | http://www.ashleestuart.com

    • breakfastatshelbys
      Author
      October 9, 2018 / 8:57 am

      I read the book straight after and I loved it just as much as the movie, so I will also be writing up a review on that too! I hope you enjoy the book and the movie! πŸ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *